Merge Duplicate Profiles

Created on:
Updated on:

When duplicate profiles are created, organization administrators and managers can merge those profiles using the Duplicate Detector or directly from a person's profile. Deleting a duplicate profile completely removes all data for that profile, but merging a duplicate profile keeps data from both profiles on the primary profile.

Duplicate profiles can be created in the following ways:

  • When importing a CSV file with names that do not match exactly to existing profiles in your database

  • When a person uses a different email address or phone number to:

    • Register for an event

    • Join a group

    • Give

    • Fill out a form

    • Log in to Church Center

Warning

If you have merged any profiles added to the database through an import, do not undo the import. Undoing the import will completely delete the merged person from your database, removing any scheduled positions, registered events, donations, etc.

What Data is Kept in a Merge?

When a person is merged with another profile, the following will happen:

  • All email addresses are kept on the primary profile.

  • All phone numbers are kept on the primary profile.

  • The highest permission level for each product is retained on the primary profile.

  • Donation information merges with the primary profile.

  • All communication history is kept on the primary profile.

  • All data from profile fields with multiple data points is kept on the primary profile.

  • A profile photo is kept if it is saved to the primary profile.

  • Profile fields with only one data point retain the primary profile's data.

Fields with only one data point:

  • All Name fields

  • Demographic info (birthdate, gender, marital, anniversary, grade, school)

  • Membership Type

  • Profile Status (active or inactive)

  • Custom Fields, except data in Checkbox types.

    A Checkbox custom field allows for more than one data point, so the data from both profiles will be kept after a merge. All other custom field types only allow for one data point, so only the data stored in the primary will be kept.

Merge with the Duplicate Detector

The Duplicate Detector will suggest a potential duplicate based on:

  • Exact name matches

  • Double metaphones (names that sound similar, like John and Jon)

  • Common nicknames

From those matches, the following criteria are not considered as duplicates:

  • Genders that are set differently; however, if the gender is set for one and not for another, it will leave them in the potential duplicates list.

  • Profiles that are in a household together.

  • Names that are the same but have different suffixes (Jr., Sr., etc.).

View Multiple Duplicates

From the Dashboard, click the duplicate in the list or select View Duplicates to see a list of all the duplicates in your database.

view_duplicates_arrow.png

View the list of people with duplicate profiles, then select X potential duplicate to see the duplicates.

potential_duplicates_arrow_2x.png

View Individual Duplicates

You can also see if a person has a duplicate right from their profile. If the Actions button is orange, you know it has a duplicate for review.

Select Review from the Actions dropdown to see the duplicates.

review_duplicate_arrow.png

Merge the Profiles

The primary profile will show along with any potential duplicates. The one with the most accurate information should be the primary profile; if it's not, you can choose one of the duplicates to be primary.

duplicate_primary_arrow_2x.png
  • Select Ignore if you’re certain these people are not duplicates. They will then be in the ignored duplicates list, and the two will not be suggested as duplicates again.

  • Select Merge Duplicate to combine this profile into the primary one. Any different information in the two profiles will be added to the primary profile.

Once you've confirmed the action, click View More Duplicates to merge other duplicates.

Danger

It is not possible to undo a profile merge.

Merge Manually on a Profile

If you know you have two people who are the same, go to the duplicate profile to merge it into the primary profile.

Select Merge Profile from the Actions dropdown to search for the primary profile.

merge_from_profile_arrow_2x.png

Search for the primary profile to keep and choose it from the list. All contact information and activity in any product will be moved from the Person To Remove to the Person To Keep. After the merge, this duplicate profile will be removed entirely from your account.

modal_merge_people.jpeg

If you're on the profile you want to keep, you can click the box under Person to Remove to search for the duplicate, and that person will replace the listed person.

After the merge is complete, you will be taken to the Person To Keep's profile page.

Access Ignored Duplicates

If you ignore the duplicate, you can choose to View ignored duplicates, which will show you all the duplicates you've ignored in the past.

irnored_duplicates_arrow_2x.png

If these profiles were ignored in error, you can manually merge them from a profile.

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 4 found this helpful