Background Checks Expirations & Permissions

Created on:
Updated on:

Depending on your church's policies or local legal requirements, you may be required to re-run background checks for your staff and volunteers. Organization Administrators can set the expiration date and assign Admins to run those checks from the Background Checks tab on the Dashboard.

Set an Expiration Date

Use the expiration policy setting to automatically expire background checks after they reach a certain age.

Select the pencil next to Expiration Policy, and then check the box to auto-expire the background checks in the number of months you want to pass before expiring.

dashboard

When you change the setting, any background check that is older than the new time frame automatically expires, but if you make the time frame longer than it used to be, previously expired background checks will become valid again.

Expired background checks will not be marked as cleared background checks.

Expiring Manual Background Checks

Manual background checks either expire based on your church's expiration policy or on a specific date. You can choose which option is right when creating a manual background check.

When entering a manual background check on a person's profile, select the expiration date from the dropdown.

expiration

The expiration policy on the Background Checks page has no affect on manual background checks that have a specific expiration date set.

View Expiring Background Checks

To see whose background checks will expire soon, you can use the Background Check Status condition in Lists.

lists

Use automations to automatically add these people to a workflow to follow up with them before their check expires.

Give Access to Admins

If you want certain people--or people with a specific permissions--to have access to this page full of background check information, add them to the list of Admins.

Click Add an Admin and choose from the dropdown.

dashboard

Administrators without access to background checks can view the status of anyone’s background check by hovering over the background check icon in the individual’s profile. They will not be able to see any other details.

In Services and Check-Ins, people who are not Organization Administrators will not be able to see any details, such as if the person hasn't had a background check run on them, the check was not cleared, or the check is expired.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 3 found this helpful