Staff Transition

Created on:
Updated on:

When someone transitions to a role with lower permission levels in Planning Center, you want to cover all your bases and ensure teams have the right leaders in place, automations continue, and the systems you set up continue to work when you remove someone from a place of leadership.

Tip

If the person transitioning has access to any login information that functions as a Planning Center integration, make sure you get access to that login information, especially Stripe and Checkr.

Check Access

You can see the products the person can access from their People profile.

Important

You can only add or remove organization administrators in Accounts; however, if you remove someone as an organization administrator in Accounts, you still need to remove their permissions in every other product.

From the Actions dropdown, select Permissions.

actions_permissions_arrow.jpeg

While you're in People, you can only make changes to the permissions in People, but you can see which products also need to be addressed by reviewing the permissions in this box.

modal_permissions.png

If you make a person inactive, their access to the products is revoked, but they may still be assigned to some features in the product. Before making them inactive, follow the steps in the corresponding products below.

People

Lists and workflows are private when only one person can access them. If you need to make someone inactive, ask them to give another administrator access to lists, workflows, note categories, and custom fields.

Lists

When a list is created, only the person who created it has access to it unless they give access to others. To find your lists, go to My lists.

my_lists_arrow.png

Choose a list and go to its Settings.

If only one name is listed in the Collaborators section, select the Add collaborator dropdown and choose a group of permissions or a specific person with Manage permission.

share_with_arrow.png

If you have View only access to lists without a manager, those lists appear under the Unassigned lists tab.

unassigned_lists_arrow.png

The first person with View only permissions to access the list can add manage permissions for themselves. 

add_manage_permissions_arrow.png

A list is automatically deleted once the last person who could view or manage it has their permissions removed.

Workflows

When a workflow is created, only you can access it until you give someone else access. You can see all the workflows you can access from the Workflows page. You can check that others can access the workflow by choosing one from the list.

workflow_page.png

If you have access to any workflows without a manager, those workflows appear under the Unassigned workflows tab.

unassigned_workflows_arrow.png

Within an unassigned workflow, you can add yourself as a manager.

manage_workflow_arrow.png

If only one name is listed in the Collaborators section, select the Add collaborator dropdown and choose a group of permissions or a specific person with the permission of Manage.

share_with_arrow.png

Make sure you set the access to Manage workflow.

manage_workflow_arrow.png

If the person is assigned to any steps, reassign them. If you don't reassign them, the step will show an error, and an assignee will need to be added when someone is added to the step.

Automations

You can see an automation's current owner in the bottom right corner of each automation.

created_by_arrow.png

If the creator of an automation is inactivated or their permissions are changed, any automation they had set up will no longer run. Another admin can reassign the automation to themselves so that it's not interrupted.

manage_Automation_arrow.png

Notes

Note categories assigned to only one person are removed when that person is made inactive. Add collaborators to the category to ensure notes remain visible after a staff transition.

If only one name is listed in the Collaborators section, select the Add collaborator dropdown and choose a group of permissions or a specific person.

share_with_arrow.png

Custom Fields

If you want data in custom fields to be visible when the field's creator is made inactive, add at least one collaborator to the field.

If only one name is listed in the Collaborators section, select the Add collaborator dropdown and choose a group of permissions or a specific person.

share_with.png

Calendar

Transfer ownership of events to someone else in the organization.

filter_and_edit_numbered.png
  1. Filter to the event owner who is leaving their role.

  2. Use the bulk action on the table calendar page to add a new owner to these events.

Check-Ins

For Check-Ins, you may need to remove a station connected to their device and change their check-in type so they're not automatically listed as a volunteer the next time they check in.

Stations

Delete a device station from the Stations page by choosing the station and clicking Delete.

stations_arrow.jpeg

Tip

If the person knows any station keys, delete or update those.

Check-In Type

When a person checks in, their type defaults to the previous check-in. To avoid any confusion when they check in the next time, check them in a second time but as a regular check-in type instead of volunteer.

Giving

If there is only one Giving administrator, add a new administrator before making an administrator inactive.

If you make the sole Giving administrator inactive, the organization administrator must unsubscribe and resubscribe to Giving and add another Giving administrator.

Groups

From a person's profile in Groups, view and edit their permission level to None.

group_permission_none.png

Check the groups they're in by filtering to "Leader" on the People page. If they are the sole group leader of a group that needs a new leader, add a new leader to that group.

find_group_arrow.png

Registrations

The three main things to check in Registrations are contributors, support contacts, and the notification list.

An event can exist without a contributor or anyone on the notification list, but the support contact is required.

Check contributors on the About tab of the Configuration page.

contributors.png

Check the support contact and the notification list from the Settings tab of the Configuration page.

support_contact_notification_list.png

Services

The two main things to check in Services are team leaders and the person set to receive replies.

Remove as Team Leader

For any team they lead, you want to ensure there is another leader or assign a new one.

Go to the person's profile and click the team name where Leader is tagged.

leader_arrows.png

Hover over the name and select the red minus sign to remove them as a leader.

remove_leader_arrow.png

If this person is the last team leader, select Add person to add a new team leader so the team members don't slip through the cracks!

Reassign Replies To Person

Typically, the team leader is the person set to receive replies, meaning when a team member accepts, declines, or blocks out dates, the team leader is notified.

In the team settings, use the dropdown to choose another person to receive these notifications.

replies_to.png
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful