Staff Transition

Created on:
Updated on:

When someone transitions to a role that requires them to have a lower permission in Planning Center, you want to make sure all your bases are covered. This guide will help you know what to do to make sure teams have the right leaders in place, automations continue, and the systems you set up continue to work when you remove someone from a place of leadership.

First, find out what access the person has in each product, and then go to the product(s) section to find any other necessary changes before you make the person inactive.

Tip

If the person transitioning has access to any login information that functions as a Planning Center integration, make sure you get access to that login information, especially Stripe.

Check Access

You can see which products the person has access to from their People profile.

From the Actions dropdown, click Permissions.

actions_permissions_arrow.jpeg

While you're in People, you can only make changes to the permissions in People, but you can see which products you need to address by seeing the permissions in this box.

modal_permissions.png

If you make a person inactive, their access to the products will be revoked, but they may still be assigned to some features in the product. Before making them inactive, follow the steps in the corresponding products below.

People

Lists and workflows can be made private when only one person has access to them. If you need to make someone inactive, ask them to give another Administrator access to lists, workflows, notes categories, and custom fields.

Caution

When you make someone inactive, any automations they had set up will not run.

Lists

When a list is created, only the person who created it has access to it, unless they give access to others. To find your lists, go to My lists.

my_lists_arrow.png

Choose a list, and then go to the Settings.

If only one name is listed in the Visibility section, click the Share with dropdown and choose a group of permissions or a specific person with the permission of Manage.

share_with_arrow.png

Tip

In order to view data from other products in the rules, anyone with access to the list must have appropriate permissions in the corresponding products.

Workflow

When a workflow is created, only you have access to it until you give someone else access. From the Workflows page, you can see all the workflows you have access to. Ensure others have access to the workflow by choosing one from the list.

workflow_page.png

If only one name is listed in the Visibility section, click the Share with dropdown and choose a group of permissions or a specific person with the permission of Manage.

share_with_arrow.png

Make sure you set the access to Manage workflow.

manage_workflow_arrow.png

If the person is assigned to any steps, reassign them. If you don't reassign them, the step will show an error, and an assignee will need to be added when someone is added to the step.

Automations

Automations in lists and forms are owned by their creator and are dependent upon the creator's current access.

created_by_arrow.png

If the creator of an automation is inactivated or their permissions are changed, the automation will need to be deleted and recreated by someone with the same access to continue functioning.

Notes

Note categories assigned to only one person will be removed when that person is made inactive.

If only one name is listed in the Visibility section, click the Share with dropdown and choose a group of permissions or a specific person.

share_with_arrow.png

Custom Fields

All Organizations Administrators and Managers have access to custom fields, even if the tabs aren't viewable on a person's profile. However, if one person is assigned to a custom tab, when that person is made inactive, they will still be the only one assigned to the tab.

If only one name is listed in the Visibility section, click the Share with dropdown and choose a group of permissions or a specific person.

share_with.png

Calendar

Transfer event ownership to someone else in the organization.

filter_and_edit_numbered.png
  1. Filter to the person you're removing.

  2. Use the bulk action on the table calendar page.

Check-Ins

For Check-Ins, you may need to remove a station connected to their device and change their check-in type, so they're not automatically listed as Volunteer the next time they check in.

Stations

Delete a device station from the Stations page by choosing the station and clicking Delete.

stations_arrow.jpeg

Tip

If the person knows any station keys, delete or update those.

Check-In Type

When a person checks in, their type defaults to the previous check-in. To avoid any confusion when they check in the next time, check them in a second time but as a Regular check-in type instead of Volunteer.

Giving

If there is only one Giving Administrator, add a new Administrator before making the single Administrator inactive.

If you make the sole Giving Administrator inactive, the Organization Administrator will need to unsubscribe and resubscribe to Giving and add another Giving Administrator.

Groups

Check the groups they're in by filtering to Leaders on the People page. If they are the sole group leader of a group that needs a new leader, add a new leader to that group.

find_group_arrow.png

Registrations

The three main things to check in Registrations are Managers, Support Contact, and Notification List.

An event can exist without a Manager or anyone on the Notification List, but the Support Contact is required.

Check the Managers and Support Contact from the Details.

managers_and_support_contact.png

Check the Notification List from the General Settings.

notification_list.png

Services

The two main things to check in Services are Team Leaders and Replies To Person.

Remove as Team Leader

For any team they lead, you want to make sure there is another leader or assign a new leader.

Navigate to the person's profile, and click the name of the team where Leader is tagged.

leader_arrows.png

Hover over the name, and then click the red minus sign to remove them as a leader.

remove_leader_arrow.png

If this person is the last Team Leader, click Add person to add a new Team Leader, so the Team Members don't slip through the cracks!

Reassign Replies To Person

Typically, the Team Leader is the Replies To Person, which means when a team member accepts, declines, or blocks out dates, the Team Leader is the person notified.

Reassign the Replies To Person from the Team Settings by choosing another person from the dropdown.

replies_to.png
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful