You can send a basic message through the People interface by connecting Mailchimp to your account. Once connected, sync your list to Mailchimp to use their campaign building tools.
Send a Plain Email
To send a plain email to the people in your list, click the envelope on the Results tab.
Only Managers and those who have Can email lists permissions will see the option to email people on lists.
Enter your message and choose Send Email to send it to those in your list.
If you want the email to come from a different sender, you can change the From to an email address your domain has access to.
For example, if you want the email to come from email@example.com, first ensure you have access to that email address, and then type kids in the From box.
The email will come from a verified domain in Mailchimp. If you're not seeing your domain, or you want to add another one, first verify the domain. Once you do that, you will see the previous domains as well as the new one you've added in the email composer.
Send a Styled Email
Sync your list in People to a Mailchimp tag by selecting Sync Now from the Settings tab.
If your account has not yet been connected to your Mailchimp account, the Sync Now button will not be available. An Organization Administrator can connect your Mailchimp account from the Integrations tab on Accounts.
You might see differences between your List count and Mailchimp Tag count due to the following reasons:
- Delay in syncing due to server load
- Duplicates: Mailchimp only emails unique email addresses, but the list might have people with the same email addresses
- Unsubscribes: if someone unsubscribes from a Mailchimp email, they are unsubscribed from all future emails
- Missing email address
Once the sync process has been completed, the sync button will say View in Mailchimp. Select that to email the people in the list from a campaign in Mailchimp.
If you want the list to re-sync to the Mailchimp list automatically, check the box next to Re-sync every night.
The email address needs to be a verified domain name in your Mailchimp account. If you see a message saying that your Mailchimp account doesn't have any verified domain names, follow the Mailchimp instructions to verify the domain.
What Happens When Someone Unsubscribes?
When someone unsubscribes from an email campaign sent through Mailchimp, they are then removed from the tag in Mailchimp, but they are not removed from the list in People.
However, they will no longer receive emails from that campaign.
If you re-sync the list in Mailchimp, a new tag will be created, and the unsubscribed person will be on that tag but will not be sent an email.