Clean Up Database After Event

Created on:
Updated on:

When someone registers for an event, the person is added to your People Database, making it much easier to follow up with them and invite them to events in the future.

However, it can also cause your database to be filled with people who aren't actually connected to your church outside of that event.

After an event is over, you can clean up your database by either changing the attendees' Membership Type or by setting the attendees as inactive, which hides them from your People list.

With either option, you first need to create a list in People.

To get to People, select Registrations in the top right and choose People from the dropdown. If you don't see People in the dropdown list, you will need to get access from a leader.

Set the list rules to find people who attended the event but are not active in the church. The actual rules that you set will vary, depending on which application you use.

  1. Create conditions that show people who have attended, given, or were scheduled at any time to rule out people who have never been a part of your church.
  2. Choose the specific event.

Once the rules fit the people you're looking for, click Submit to be taken to the list.

If you track individual people's activity in a different way, add that condition to the first rule.

From the list, you can choose to either change the membership type or set the person to inactive. Select Bulk Action from the Actions dropdown.

Expand one of the options below to see how to change the membership type or set the person to inactive.

Change the Membership Type

If you choose to change the Membership Type, the event attendees will stay in your database as active profiles, just with a different membership type. The membership type will be reflected on the dashboard, and the people will be found in lists and automations unless the Membership Type is explicitly excluded.

From the Bulk Action box, choose the type to update all the people to.

membership type

If you don't want to use a default option as a membership type, you can create your own from the Personal Tab on the Custom Fields page.

Once you select Update x people, all the people on the list will be updated with the new membership type.

Set to Inactive

If you choose to set the event attendees to inactive, they will be removed from your database as active profiles, but you can search and reactivate them at any time. They will not be included in the numbers on your dashboard, and the people will not be found in lists and automations unless you check the box to include inactive profiles.

From the Bulk Action box, set the Membership Status to Inactive and choose a reason and date.

inactive

If you don't want to use a default option as a Membership Status, you can create your own from the Personal Tab on the Custom Fields page.

Once you select Update x people, all the people on the list will be set to inactive.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful